SoundAbout
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All audio to wired headphones when in car

2 posters

Go down

All audio to wired headphones when in car Empty All audio to wired headphones when in car

Post by hubert_cumberdale Mon Feb 23, 2015 7:41 am

I have a Motorola Moto G (2nd generation) running Android Lollipop 5.0.2. and the latest SoundAbout Beta version.

I have been using SoundAbout for several months now, but haven't been able to get it to do quite what I want. Which is to brute force all audio output to my car's speakers when plugged in using a stereo cable in the headphone jack.

The problem I am facing lies in the fact that SoundAbout tries to "detect" the audio all the time, which it often gets wrong. Detection won't work for me because I have had to hack my car stereo (as it doesn't have an aux input) by playing aux input over the CD channel. This is the reason why I need SoundAbout in the first place as Android is unable to detect something has been plugged into the headphone jack, but it appears SoundAbout is unable to do so either.

So what I was hoping for was to just force all audio output, no matter what, over the headphone jack and not try to detect. If I change "Media audio" setting from let app decide to wired headphones it does sort of work. However, the setting does get overridden sometimes for some reason, plus it's not very convenient to delve into settings when I'm driving. So I was very happy to learn about the widget option, but unfortunately this turns out to be a toggle for detection of audio and not a toggle to force it into a certain mode. The detection does not work very well at all (I have to keep toggling the widget several times) and it also gives up if I pause my music. And it goes absolutely crazy if I receive a phone call, it does not know what to do at all!